Skip to content

no day but today

June 25, 2016

Well, it’s been forever and a day since I posted. I miss you, safe-body-positive-self-reflective-space. I’ve been too caught up in things… things like building a career and worrying about my family and trying to find time for art and writing and friendship and planning out my life… all very important things, but all things that ultimately suffer if I forget about my own health and happiness. So, here I am, I’m back, and while I regret being out of touch for so long, all we can do is make good choices today.

It’s amazing how certain central life lessons have to be learned over and over, how sometimes we can learn a lot from our past selves, even, because our past selves may have had more space to focus on what’s most important. Before I switched careers, for example, I had time and energy to work out all of the time and write blog posts and research helpful nutritional and biological information. It was a good foundation to return to, even if it wasn’t something I sustained as much as I intended to.

Now that my new career is finally on stable ground, it’s time to return to that space and to remember what matters most. It’s been painful lately feeling like my body is weaker and heavier than what’s comfortable, feeling like a detached brain floating above my desk chair all day. It’s time to remember that I have a body and that having a body is good. It’s time to remember that I want to be a good role model for naturally larger young women, that you don’t have to be stick thin to be healthy and that being healthy is something worth working for. So, here I go. So happy to be here now.

❤ Diana Banana

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

