Skip to content

trusting yourself

May 12, 2012

I know it sounds cheesy as can be, but I’m finding this to be true:

Losing weight through self-love is all about trusting yourself.

It’s about trusting yourself to know how much and how often to eat, to know what to eat, to know when it’s time to exercise, to push through resistance. 

Once you can trust yourself to do right by yourself, it’s all smooth sailing.  It’s wonderful.  The pressure subsides and makes room for excitement and aliveness and fun 😀

If you find you can’t trust yourself right now, all you have to do is get in touch with the voice inside of yourself that knows what is good for you (or what is “right”) and give it authority.  Let it be domineering for a minute until you are back in the mindset to do what is healthy naturally. 

It’s kind of like being your own loving, balanced parent.  Fierce unconditional love and no-BS guidance.  I’m lucky in the sense that I had so many parental figures, and all so different… it allows me to choose which approach to take with myself in each situation.  These skills I’m learning about taking care of my body are so broadly applicable that it makes it worthwhile to do this the long, slow, hard way. 

The past few months have been mostly smooth sailing, with the help of personal training as a way to get in touch with my own authority and desire for structure.  I’m excited and hopeful about the coming summer.

❤ Diana Banana

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

