Skip to content

daily motion month!

February 1, 2011

So, here’s the deal:

On New Years I resolved to try an experiment. I had been noticing that my exercise habits were following an all-or-nothing pattern where my “on” days were really on (ie super intense workouts) and my “off” days were usually overwhelmingly sedentary. This way of living does not align with my philosophy, which emphasizes that importance of balance. So I resolved to try one month of intentional motion everyday, with the hypothesis that I will become “addicted” to this new way of life even after the end of the month.

It’s time to test it out! For the whole month of February, not a day will go by without some form of exercise or intentional movement. This will also challenge me to think outside of my own definition of exercise! Motion isn’t just a standard gym work-out; it can be any number of things: night walks,  shooting hoops with my little sister, or just dancing around like mad.  I want to have fun with this.

Here are the rules:

  • Daily motion session should be at least 15 minutes long.  Running really quickly up the stairs when I’m late for work doesn’t count (a totally random, unfamiliar example… hehe).
  • Daily motion shouldn’t be something I dread; If I find myself dreading it, I will pick a different activity.
  • If it hurts, stop.  I don’t want this to become a problem for my bad knee.  Without “off” days to rest, I need to make sure that my movements are not pushing my knee to its limits very often.
  • Structure or don’t structure, just make sure I make this choice purposefully.  I have a general outline in my mind of a daily motion weekly schedule, which is intended to provide me flexible support.  I will be posting this outline shortly, but for now I am purposefully choosing NOT to follow the schedule.  Why?  Because I am just beginning my second Master Cleanse (gasp!) and I want to really feel out how much activity my body can handle while on the cleanse.  I am only doing a week-long cleanse, so I will also have time to try out my structured approach as well.  It will be interesting to see which approach works better for me.

That’s it! Those are all the rules.  Other than that, it’s all about experimentation, stretching, and playing.  Who is with me?!

❤ Diana Banana

Image courtesy of Matisse and http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://smarthistory.org/assets/images/images/matissedance.jpg&imgrefurl=http://smarthistory.org/Matisse-Dance.html&usg=__TtA_1NLpFUO0iRDVtPxyDJO39Xs=&h=343&w=520&sz=34&hl=en&start=130&sig2=Sov_27B7nB10i0yiOVrcvw&zoom=1&tbnid=LNdJsqDF_V85_M:&tbnh=156&tbnw=208&ei=Xv9ITb2jEYb4swPL8riSCg&prev=/images%3Fq%3Ddance%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26client%3Dfirefox-a%26rls%3Dorg.mozilla:en-US:official%26biw%3D1420%26bih%3D636%26tbs%3Disch:10%2C3138&um=1&itbs=1&iact=hc&vpx=354&vpy=271&dur=5046&hovh=182&hovw=277&tx=167&ty=92&oei=IP9ITbjjDYeesQPV_rmlCg&esq=10&page=7&ndsp=20&ved=1t:429,r:7,s:130&biw=1420&bih=636

Leave a Reply

