Skip to content

resolutions

January 1, 2011

Happy New Year!  Welcome, 2011.  I have high hopes for you.

In 2011 I will hear back from graduate programs, so I begin this year with a buffet of possible futures before me.  It is frightening to have so much of my future out of my control, but I find comfort in the new year, in the numerous possibilities born from having dared to act on my desires last year.

More than ever before, I have such a clear picture of what I want as I begin the new year — maybe I am finally comfortable with wanting.  The interesting thing is that when I have a clear mental picture of my desires, I can see that none of them are unrealistic or out of reach.  It used to be that when someone asked me what I wanted, I would enter the land of fantasy and passive wish-making: I want a million dollars.  I want God to suddenly make me thin.  This is a good place to start, as it provides a general outline of the areas that remain unfulfilled, but now I am noticing that the things I imagine for myself are more specific and exist within the context of the life I am building, so they are all things I have the power to do.

What I want for 2011:

  • Reduce my stress and increase mindfulness simply by adding a ten-minute cushion to everything I do.   Even become comfortable with being early.  This includes waking up earlier for work each day.  I even imagine doing yoga before work on a regular basis to start my days off in a centered space.
  • Conduct a month-long experiment in February (when I will have my life back from all of the applications) in which I will do some form of exercise or purposeful movement every day for the full month.  This does not mean doing a hard-core workout 7 days a week but rather making space in my life for paying attention to my body and what it needs every single day, to make a habit of checking in with myself consistently.  I have noticed that on my “off” days, I usually ignore my body’s movement altogether.  If this experiement succeeds, I will not want to stop daily motion after the month is over and this will become my new way of life.
  • Do the Master Cleanse again to remember how dramatically food impacts the body.
  • Keep losing weight.  Though may be a complete cliche, I really want to fit into my smallest old jeans this year 😀
  • Create an alternative plan for my future before the decision letters start arriving from graduate programs.  In this way, I will maintain my sense of empowerment and agency no matter what happens externally.
  • Cherish my relationship with Sam each day.  Those who love unconditionally and act compulsively out of kindness are, tragically, far too easy to take for granted.  I focus so much of my energy on growing and developing the spots in my life that need bolstering, but this should never come at the expense of remembering the incredible fortune I already have.

❤ Diana Banana

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sasha permalink
    January 7, 2011 12:03 am

    This is awesome Diana! I love it and YOU. YOu are my inspiration! and I am on day 5 of the master cleanse! Wow. What a ride it has been so far! I support everydream, goal and idea on this blog, keep em coming lovebug!

    xoxo LYEF!
    Sasha

  2. January 12, 2011 2:01 pm

    Hi Diana – very nice blog, and I’m totally down with the February Daily Movement Month! Great idea!

Trackbacks

  1. daily motion month! « Diana Banana

Leave a Reply

