Skip to content

a cause for celebration

September 17, 2010

Could it be that this gluten-free thing is really working?! I am finally in the “I’ve lost 60-something lbs” category rather than the all-too comfortable “I’ve lost 50-something lbs” category that I’ve been wading around in for what feels like forever now.

You know how I thought my loss of appetite was related to stress? Well, that could be true, but I had another thought: what if this is just another positive effect of going gluten free? What if my intestines really are healing? I have read that when gluten-intolerant people eat gluten, our intestines become inflamed and eventually they get scarred, which prevents the nutrients in food from entering the body.  This can lead to malnutrition and/or an inflated appetite.   I have been gluten-free for a month and a half now (longer if you could the first few weeks of “attempting” to avoid gluten), and maybe, just MAYBE, I am starting to see the effects. Maybe my body doesn’t need as much food because it is being fully nourished by the food it is receiving.

In the abstract, it’s hard for me to believe that this is really working — but when I look at the facts, it is not surprising at all. For people who are actually gluten-intolerant and not just jumping on the fad-diet bandwagon, weight-loss can definitely be one of the effects of going gluten-free. And now that I am gluten-free, my rash is almost gone and I feel better overall. I have had more energy and I think I’m even able to focus better.

The other night I had my first hidden-gluten incident in a long time and all night my skin was itching like crazy. The incident was actually really interesting: it showed me how well I’ve been doing, since I hadn’t had that sensation in weeks, and it also showed me how necessary this lifestyle is for my body. On top of the undeniable itching, I also felt my heart rate increase and I got super cranky out of nowhere. I know sensitivity increases as exposure decreases, but still… how did I eat this substance that my body hates so much for 25 years of my life?!! It’s really quite alarming.

Today is Friday and it is payday! After work I am taking myself shopping at Victoria’s Secret because… well… I have been wanting to for months.  All too often I am too hard on myself, but today I get to celebrate and feel proud of the progress I have made 😀

❤ Diana Banana

image courtesy of http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.etftrends.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/celebration.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.etftrends.com/tag/ireland/&usg=__d2WeUeP5Epi0cjTCYpZGDaM64K4=&h=400&w=400&sz=52&hl=en&start=25&sig2=7MdhzhgR5zD56OF9m5eurA&zoom=1&tbnid=NcPyc-y1f_FV9M:&tbnh=142&tbnw=142&ei=qNKTTNjCM4T4sAO3ofy_Cg&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dcelebration%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26client%3Dfirefox-a%26sa%3DN%26rlz%3D1R1GGIC_en___US357%26biw%3D1212%26bih%3D776%26tbs%3Disch:10%2C342&um=1&itbs=1&iact=hc&vpx=127&vpy=417&dur=748&hovh=225&hovw=225&tx=137&ty=138&oei=iNKTTJDrDoT6swPisZnBCg&esq=2&page=2&ndsp=24&ved=1t:429,r:0,s:25&biw=1212&bih=776

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2010 7:02 pm

    Sixty-something! Whoa Diana, that is such an amazing milestone! I am so inspired. And so impressed with your acute attention to your body. That is so awesome. And glad for you. Woooo!

  2. Jody Savage permalink
    September 17, 2010 11:12 pm

    Hi Di, sounds like gluten free is really good for you! Just curious: What was the hidden gluten contained in??

    • September 21, 2010 2:01 pm

      tapioca pudding! I thought it would be a nice treat because tapioca itself is gluten-free, but unfortunately it contained modified food starch which can be made out of wheat. boo. Next time I want tapioca I will just get some bubble tea 🙂

Leave a Reply

