Skip to content

farther from gluten, closer to my body

August 19, 2010

It has been an intense journey to figure out my body.  Intense in a way that I’m not used to.  S L O W intense.  Patient intense.  And this gluten thing has slowed it down even more.  It’s a painstaking process, a lot like slowly breaking down the tightness in my body one muscle at a time.  It feels so amazing to, for the first time ever, totally exist in my body & not to be afraid of it.  Good riddance, gluten.

You know how gluten intolerance is correlated with stress?  (The intolerant person’s body’s reaction to gluten chronically inflames the intestines, and stress hormone patterns are very similar to those of people with PTSd.)  Well, my newest theory is that gluten-intolerance actually causes PTSd!  It feels to me like it made me afraid of my body from the inside out (while societal pressures worked from the outside-in).  I think the body knowing it’s not quite healthy for so many formative years is actually traumatic…

…and I think figuring this problem out is nothing short of a revelation: I don’t have to be afraid of my body. There is nothing wrong with me.

This also shows me a bit about how connected the soul is with the body!  They have felt like two separate things because my body wasn’t a safe home.  But now, finally, it is, at least some of the time 🙂

I asked Sam the other day if I looked better since going gluten-free and he said, “yea, you look like you feel better.”  I do feel better, and I’m grateful.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 10:19 pm

    Amazing how you have come to understand yourself. What a wonderful thing.

  2. Jody Savage permalink
    August 19, 2010 11:04 pm

    Diana, so happy for you, and proud you are doing all this great work for yourself. Love, Mom.

  3. Eileen Levy permalink
    August 19, 2010 11:18 pm

    Diana- This is completely awesome and inspiring! Makes we want to take a closer look at gluten and its effects on our bodies. Keep up the good work- you rock! Love, Eileen

  4. August 20, 2010 5:15 pm

    thanks, all of you! i can feel the love ;-D

  5. lynne farris permalink
    August 24, 2010 9:06 pm

    they say the body is the vessel of the soul, and i believe that. when you are tuned into your body, and it is free of junk, your mind becomes clear, the soul becomes free, and you become the person you were meant to be 🙂 sounds simple, but it isn’t. your journey is an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

