Skip to content

making connections

May 13, 2010

[Current Weekly Question: What do you love about your body?]

Do you ever notice that some topics suddenly come up a bunch of times in a row?

This happened to me this week.  I’ve been thinking/talking to people about this simple, powerful idea:  you are not as trapped as you imagine.  I am not as trapped as I imagine.

In my last entry, I wrote about the barriers between myself and my goals for my body.  These barriers are real and they are fictional.  That is to say, they are seeds containing bits of truth and I have, without knowing it, watered and nurtured them into being.  They are able to go from little bumps in the road to full-blown barriers because I make them grow.

My cognitive constructs of my barriers give them their power.  They are self-fulfilling.

So, by the same token, can it be true that the cognitive construction of success makes it real too? I know I’m not the first one to come up with this concept, but maybe that doesn’t matter because it’s not the kind of thing that can be taught.  It sounds like a cheesy oversimplification when someone says, “envision the life you want and it will come true,” or something along those lines.  It seems like a neatly packaged cliche, and maybe it is.

But it is the process of realizing this message that gives it its power.  It’s really about learning how to get out of your own way, which is a different lesson for each person.  In learning the power behind the cliche you learn about your own power to influence your destiny: you learn that you have been influencing your situation all along with your fears and imagined constrictions.  So, it’s not much of a leap to believe you can take control of your own life in any way you desire. You can be free.

Lately I’ve been extra frustrated by my barriers, but I’ve also been having clearer images of what it would look like for me to be free of them.  I imagine myself being excited about each day and being active and engaged with the world, feeling attractive and unafraid to put myself out there.  I imagine creating art and poetry from this fiery confidence and fearless connection, and in this way I imagine never burning out.

It’s amazing how connected my struggle with my body is with my struggle with my art.  The parallels continuously amaze me.  I suppose taking care of your body is an art form in its own right.

❤ Diana Banana

image courtesy of http://telos.tv/blog/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/Matisse-Book-cover_500.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 11:00 pm

    That’s so deep! and so true. I think it’s taking me a long time for my beliefs/identity to catch up with my physical self. And YES, taking care of one’s body IS an art form. I believe that, but some of my writer friends are sad for me that I haven’t been writing as much during this year of Taking Care of my Body.

  2. Jody Savage permalink
    June 19, 2010 10:59 pm

    This leads in so many directions, one being: EVERYTHING we do with intention is an art form. Chop wood, carry water.

Leave a Reply

