Skip to content

why why why

April 29, 2010

[Current Weekly Question: What does it feel like for you when you are in touch with your body?]

Why, I’ve been asking myself, is my blog, which is supposed to be about having a healthy & balanced body, all about losing weight?

Just a few weeks ago I was looking through a “health” magazine and chuckling to myself… it was nothing but weight loss tips!  As though being thin automatically means you are healthy & there’s absolutely nothing else to think about under the giant umbrella of healthy living!  Seriously, it’s really silly: I bet about 85 – 95% of the articles in health magazines are just weight-loss tricks.  Vanity parading as health, with some truth behind it.

I’m super aware of the narrow mindedness of this, and yet here I am blogging about weight and balance and health as though they are all synonymous!  So, yes, why… why am I focusing primarily on weight loss?

The best answer I have is that, for my particular body and my particular background, weight has always been the central issue… the symbol of imbalance.  It really is a strain on my body to have extra weight, just as it is a strain on my emotions to carry the burden of America’s unhealthy idolization of being skinny.  I can’t change our culture’s fixation on weight, but I can separate from it enough to know my own truth, which happens to be that yes, losing a fair amount of weight (the healthy way) will help make my body happy :0)

I’m not trying to get healthy by losing weight, I’m trying to lose weight by getting healthy. There is actually a huge difference between the two.  For me, the weight loss is secondary, but it is the challenge I am faced with and a good measure of my body’s progress.

❤ Diana Banana

image courtesy of http://www.negotiationlawblog.com/why2.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jody Savage permalink
    June 19, 2010 11:11 pm

    Somewhere I read this:
    “People who say they are losing weight for their health are like people who say they read Playboy for the articles.”

Leave a Reply

